Sandwich heartbreak

I have this theory that with every good thing that happens, a bad thing must accompany it. It’s the universe’s way of telling us that things get better, but also to not be complacent. For example, today I received the news that I will have a job after my contract ends in February! I had a great day at work, my mum even brought me a milkshake, and I found a surprise chocolate in my bag.
I know…life doesn’t get much better.

Sadly this is where my high ended.

Once back at home when I was seated at my desk, I dropped my Subway sandwich on my carpeted bedroom floor FACE DOWN. Please hold back your tears because you’ll need them for this next part. As I went to retrieve my shit-storm of a sandwich, I somehow managed to run it over with my desk chair. My sandwich laid there, strewed across the floor probably in as much shock as I was. After all, doesn’t the saying go that we hurt the ones we love the most?

So what does one do when the delicious turkey and mayo goodness (that they had looked forward to all day) splatters all over the floor? Well first, you laugh because what else is there to do but cry? Secondly, you question why bad things happen to good people and why the universe tries to rip happiness away from you as quickly as it gives it. Thirdly, you pull yourself back together and you realise that with every high comes a low. It is the process of living and taking each moment as it comes. The good moments we must revel in; the bad we must learn from.

And you know what? I still ate that sandwich, and I ate it with pride. Because I’ll be damned if I’m gonna let the universe decide when my happiness ends.

Leave a Reply

